Winner announced in Democracy’s Watchdogs’ student award


Thank you to all the students who entered Democracy’s Watchdogs’ inaugural award for student investigative reporting. There were many high quality entries to choose from, which made the judges’ job quite challenging. The stories displayed an excellent understanding of the media’s role in holding power to account and informing the public on significant issues. Well done everybody!

Congratulations to winners Kate Wong and David Bogi from the University of Melbourne. Highly commended were terrific stories by RMIT students Tyson Whelan and Warwick Jones.

You can read the judges’ comments and find more details of the stories here.

The award will return in 2021.

Have a happy and healthy festive season.


  • Bill Birnbauer

Founder, Democracy’s Watchdogs