Election Night Blog

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






7.00 WST/9.00 EST: The Junction’s live election broadcast winds up as the count goes on with commentators Paul Strangio and Mary Delahunty predicting a long night ahead.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6.56 WST/8.56 EST: Junction student journalists on the ground as Tony Abbott concedes Warringah and Deputy Labor Leader Tanya Plibersek rejoices with a swing in her favour.

Lachlan Moffet Gray (UTS) outside Manly Leagues club

Cindy Cammerone (Usyd) at Erskineville Bowling in Sydney

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6.15 WST/8.15 EST: This is the current state of the count – still early numbers and swinging left from the very early count.

 

6.02PM WST/8.02PM EST: The polls have just closed in Western Australia and this is the latest from the AEC on the seat of Warringah – but remember there is a lot more counting to be done. These are very early predictions of results.

 

5.48PM WST/7.48PM EST: The Junction LiveTV coverage. will extend to 8.30 as the 2019 election count sits on a knife edge.

5.33PM WST/7.33PM EST: This is how the  looking with a small percentage of 17.22% of polling places counted. (Projected TCP is a calculation of expected results should the swing continue at its current rate. It is determined by applying the current swing in each seat against the results at the last federal election for polling places yet to be counted.)

 

 

5.12PM WST/7.12PM EST: Kate Purnell from ECU reporting from Hasluck for our LiveTV coverage.

ECU’s Kate Purnell, reporting from Hasluck.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5.04PM WST/7.04PM EST: Very early results in. Only 6.4% of polling places counted, but as usual the first glimpse shows a Lib/Nat lead 59% to 41% to ALP. It could go anywhere from here.

 

4.51PM WST/6.51PM EST: Junction Live Broadcast commentator Mary Delahunty says there’ll be “blood on the floor” if the Liberals lose the election.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4.09PM WST/ 6.09PM EST: Usyd students Gabrielle Platt, Cindy Cameronne, Keeli Royle and Marieke Bire on site at Erskineville Bowling Club, where Deputy Labor Leader Tanya Plibersek’s supporters are gathering

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4PM WST/6PM EST: Cardboard Pauline Hanson was handing out her own HTVs in Keenan’s seat of Stirling in WA.

Photo by Gren Francis
Cardboard Pauline Hanson

 

2:55 WST/4:55EST: Voters at polling booths in Dianella, Yokine and Tuart Hill in WA are basing their votes on a number of issues. These range from unemployment, tax and interest rates to climate change and immigration. The decision making is still underway, with many still undecided while standing in line to cast their ballots. An interesting note is the turn out – an estimated 27% less than the previous federal election, probably due to pre-polling.

BY Grenville Francis and Nick Doyle, ECU.

Photo by Nick Doyle.
In Tuart Hill WA democracy sausages were a hit.

 

Photo by Nick Doyle
A bake sale sweetened the political deal at Tuart Hill.

 

2:45 WST/4.45 EST: The pressure is on at Butler Primary School in the electorate of Pearce where a GetUp campaign has worked hard to unseat incumbent Liberal Christian Porter. By Holly Edwards-Smith, ECU.

Photo by Holly Edwards-Smith, ECU
Butler Primary in Pearce